Leading By Example: TCU's Coach Gary Patterson

Leading By Example: TCU's Coach Gary Patterson


Leading By Example: TCU's Coach Gary Patterson

Courtesy of Mark Cohen, TCU | Associate Athletics Director for Communications

TCU head football coach Gary Patterson has been selected as the 2018 recipient of the Gene Stallings Award.

Image result for Gene Stallings image

The Stallings Award is presented annually by Dr Pepper to an NCAA Division I college football head coach who is both a humanitarian in the community and an exceptional coach.

The award is named in honor of legendary coach Gene Stallings as a tribute to his late son Johnny and those who triumph no matter their circumstances. They make a difference in the lives of the players they know and the communities in which they live.

The Stallings Award also makes a difference in its philanthropic mission. The proceeds from the award banquet benefit The Rise Schools, which give students with intellectual disabilities the educational and social foundation to become contributing members of society.

Patterson, the nation’s second-longest tenured head coach, is TCU’s all-time winningest football coach with 160 victories. His .737 winning percentage (160-57) is fourth among active coaches nationally (minimum 10 years experience).

In eight of the last 10 seasons, TCU has been recognized by the American Football Coaches Association (AFCA) as one of the nation’s leaders in its graduation rate for student-athletes.

Patterson has totaled 20 national coach of the year awards. He has led TCU to conference championships in three different leagues (C-USA, Mountain West, Big 12).

He also won coach of the year honors in all three conferences. He has produced at least 11 wins in 10 of the last 15 seasons and helped lead the Horned Frogs to eight conference titles and 18 bowl games in 20 years.

During his head coaching tenure, Patterson has had 42 players drafted with 100 in NFL camps.

@TCUCohen | GoFrogs.com


More FrogsWire